If this venue is missing details or has changed operations, let us know and we will
investigate and update the listing.
Please include any website links supporting the requested changes
The Carrington has a long and rich history spanning almost a century and a quarter since her establishment by Sydney hotelier Harry Rowell.
Opened in 1882 as The Great Western, this Grand Old Lady soon became a popular mountain retreat for international visitors, the elite of Sydney and those eager to see the natural wonders of the Blue Mountains.
Renamed 'The Carrington' in 1886, in honour of the then Governor of New South Wales, Lord Carrington, the hotel was extended by its new owner, Mr F C Goyder who is credited with the creation of The Grand Dining Room. With its extended and upgraded facilities, The Carrington gained even more acceptance as a world class establishment.
By the early 1900's The Carrington's reputation as the premier tourist resort in the Southern Hemisphere was undisputed and the newspapers of the day often cited her as the only rival to Raffles within The Empire.
Sold in 1911 to Sir James Joynton Smith, who introduced the famous stained glass facade, The Carrington entered a new phase and quickly became known as the honeymoon destination of choice, and this remained so for the next half a century.